Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News
Events
Athletics
FOR YOU> Apply
Visit
Request Info
Give
Pfeiffer Logo About Pfeiffer
Academics

Admissions & Aid
Career Success
Student Life

Research
Tools

Distance Ed
Students

Services About
the Library

Archives Ask a Librarian

Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections: Special Collections

The Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections house the University Archives, the official repository of historically significant records of the University.

Special Collections

The Unversity Archives

The University Archives house the official records of Pfeiffer University and document the school's administration, curriculum, programs, and students from its inception as ajunior college in 1935. Although Pfeiffer dates back to 1885, the records of Oberlin  Home and School, Mitchell Home School, and Mitchell Junior College are scarce. Some records of these predecessor institutions can be found in the manuscript collections.

What kinds of materials are in the Pfeiffer University Archives?

Audiovisual materials -- Video and audio of campus events such as fundraising campaign kickoffs, graduation exercises, and homecoming activities. Access to these items is limited.

Image collections -- Photographic prints, slides, and negatives of campus life. Pfeiffer's photographs are currently being arranged according to activity and year. Also includes post cards and prints and drawings.

Publications -- Student, departmental, and other official publications including: student newspapers, literary magazines, and yearbooks; personnel newsletters, alumni magazines, development publications, student handbooks, and the University catalog and others.

Records -- Materials of historical significance from: campus offices, departments, schools, student and alumni organizations, and the Board of Trustees. Vertical files -- Maintained on individuals falling in one or more of these categories: faculty and staff; distinguished alumni; trustees; honorary degree recipients; honored guests, and lecturers, and entertainers. The vertical files are often referred to as "the names file."

 

How are materials in the Pfeiffer University Archives arranged?

Records of Pfeiffer University are divided into record groups, which roughly correspond to University divisions. The records are further divided into sub-groups, and series.

Here is a list of some of the University record groups.:*


RG1 Board of Trustees

RG2 Office of the President

RG3 University Advancement

RG7 Charlotte Campus

RG8 Administrative Affairs

RG9 Marketing and Enrollment

RG10 Athletics

RG11 Student Development

RG12 Academic Affairs

RG13 Chaplain

RG14 Administrative and Institutional Teams

RG15 Facilities


*This is not a complete listing. For more information on holdings, contact the archivist.

Manuscript Collections

The special collections of Pfeiffer University contain materials that, because of format, rarity, subject coverage, or condition, are best cared for separately from the general library collection. Some collections have been described in the library's online public access catalog, in finding aids, or guides to the collections. Access to most collections is presently only available in the Mary Fisher Floyd Archives. The rare books and imprints include an extensive assemblage of pamphlets from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, some first editions, and monographs of local interest.

Subject areas covered in the manuscript collections include: Mines and mining -- North Carolina; Gold mines -- North Carolina; Methodist Episcopal Church; Methodist Episcopal Church, South; Woman's Home Missionary Society; Yadkin River Region; Education; Civil War; Reconstruction; United Methodist Church; Appalachian Region, Southern -- Church History; Piedmont North Carolina, Genealogy, African Americans -- Genealogy, Civil Rights -- History, Civil rights movements -- History.

Manuscript collections available for use in the Mary Fisher Floyd Archives at Pfeiffer University, arranged alphabetically with inclusive dates.
Ones highlighted are online finding aids currently available.

A-G | H-M | N-S | T-Z

A
Alexander (F.V.E.A) Ledger, 1856-1886

B

C

Carpenter (Terry Haynes) photograph collection,

Cline (William L.) papers,

F
Floyd (Mary Fisher) papers, 1912-1997

Freeman (Jane Hill) collection,

G

Gold Hill Copper Company records, 1900-1906

Gold mining collection, 1884-1983

Gore (Phyllis W.) scrapbook, 1970-1995

Gowell (Annie B. Davis) collection, 1920-1974

 

Back to top of page.

H
Hambley family collection, 1877-1987

Herron, (Rev. Dr. Vernon M.) Civil Rights and Genealogy Collection

Holmes (Lonnie Cruse) letter,

 

J

K
Kappa Chi fraternity (Upsilon chapter) scrapbook, 1958-1959

L

Lefko (Nicholas and Reba H.) oral history interview, 1997

M
McBee (Esther Niebel) scrapbook, 1927-1929

Meisenheim collection,

Misenheimer (Annie Laura) oral history interview, 1997

Misenheimer (Harvey N.) papers,

Mitchell Home School collection, 1910-1996

Mitchell Home School photo albums,

Mitchell Junior College photo albums,

 

Back to top of page.

N

Nussman (Caleb L.) account book,

O
Oberlin Home and School collection, 1897-1985

Owen (Mary Aurilla Davis) papers,

P
Pfeiffer College scrapbook,

Pfeiffer-Merner family collection, 1912-1998

Pfeiffer Woman's Club records, 1957-1976

Pickler (Catherine) oral history interview, 1998

Pollitt (Phoebe) papers, 1850-1995

Prudden (Emily C.) collection, 1840-1996

R
Regional collection, 1844-1998

Rodeheaver (Ruthella Feaster) papers,

Rowe (Anna K.) papers,

S

Sharpe (Ivey L.) papers, 1972-1984

 

Back to top of page.

T
Taylor (Beulah) photo album, 1940-1942

Taylor family papers,

Thomas (Newell) photograph collection,

U
Union Copper Mines Company records, 1906-1918

V

W
Watkins (Lottie E.) papers,

Woman's Home Missionary Society records,

Y
Yadkin Pee Dee Lakes Project records, 1991- [ongoing]

Youngs (Caroline F.) collection, 1920-1977

Back to top of page.

Rare Books

Rare books are volumes that, due to their rarity, subject coverage, or condition, are best housed and cared for separately from the general library collection. Volumes in the rare book collection do not circulate but are available during regular library hours.

When Pfeiffer became a senior college in 1954, the resources of the college library were limited. Garfield Merner, a member of the board of Trustees and a generous donor, took an especial interest in seeing the holdings of the library grow. He donated numerous volumes from his own personal library, as did G.A. Pfeiffer (for whom the library is named) and others. These donations included first editions and autographed copies by authors such as Helen Keller, Ernest Hemingway and Ansel Adams.

Subject areas represented in the library's rare book collection include the history and literature of North Carolina, with an emphasis on the following counties: Anson, Cabarrus, Davie, Davidson, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly.

There are also numerous volumes pertaining to the Methodist church, including the Methodist Episcopal Church; the Methodist Episcopal Church, South; and the Methodist Protestant Church.

For information on the holdings of the Mary Fisher Floyd Archives rare book collection, consult the the archivist. At present 95% of all books in the Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections are in Polaris the library's online public access catalog.

Images in the Collection


Photographs
The photograph collection consists of images dating from the early 1900's to the present. Most photographs are black and white and many of the early images of the school are reproductions. The collection documents the development of Pfeiffer University from its founding as Oberlin Home and School to the present. Images in the collection include the buildings, people and activities of the University and Stanly County. Photographs are also located in the University Archives' vertical filesand in some manuscript collections. Photograph Collections that are online include:

Oberlin Home and School
Mitchell Home School

Photograph Collections that are not online include:

Post Cards and Christmas Cards
The post card collection is a small collection that shows images of the Misenheimer campus from about 1910 to the present. Christmas cards are sent annually by the president to members of the Pfeiffer community and this collection contains many examples of these.

Paintings, Prints and Drawings
The Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections of Pfeiffer University contains a small yet impressive collection of artwork. Examples include architectural renderings, works of oil on canvas, watercolors and colored pencils.