Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News
Events
Athletics
FOR YOU> Apply
Visit
Request Info
Give
Pfeiffer Logo About Pfeiffer
Academics

Admissions & Aid
Career Success
Student Life

Research
Tools

Distance Ed
Students

Services About
the Library

Archives Ask a Librarian

Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections: Caroline F. Youngs Collection

The Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections house the University Archives, the official repository of historically significant records of the University.

Collection Information

Descriptive Summary
Information for Users
Provenance
Biographical Note
Online Catalog Headings
Organization of Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Correspondence, 1943-1977
Literary, ca. 1947
Photographs ca. 1920-1940
Printed Materials, ca 1947
Scrapbook, nd

Guide to the Caroline F. Youngs Collection

Guide to the Caroline F. Youngs Collection ca. 1920-1977

Collection Number Mss 19972

G.A. Pfeiffer Library, Mary Fisher Floyd Archives & Special Collections

 

Descriptive Summary

Creator
Pfeiffer University
Title
Caroline F. Youngs Collection
Call Number
Mss 19971
Extent
1 archival box, .2 linear feet
Location
For current information on the location of these materials, please consult the Pfeiffer University Archivist.
 

Information for Users

Restrictions to Access
This collection may have restrictions to access. Please contact the Pfeiffer University Archivist for more information.
Acquisitions Information
The majority of items were acquired by unknown means. A portion of the materials were donated by Ms. Esther Phillips in 1977.
Provenance
This is an artificial collection which was originally housed under several headings within the subject-based system developed by Dr. Bernard Russell.
Preferred Citation
[Identification of item], Caroline F. Youngs Collection, Mary Fisher Floyd Archives, Pfeiffer University.
Copyright Notice
Certain restrictions as to the use or copying of the materials in these papers may apply. Please contact the Pfeiffer University Archivist for more information.

Biographical Note

Caroline Flagg Youngs (1866-1947) was a native of Ogle County, Illinois. After graduating high school in 1884, Ms. Youngs taught in Rockford, Illinois, until 1908. Following a two-year teaching stint in West Virginia, she entered the University of Wisconsin, from which she matriculated in 1913. She then served as superintendent of education at the State Industrial School for Boys in Lansing, Michigan. Ms. Youngs came to Misenheimer to superintend Mitchell School in 1920. She was instrumental in the establishment of Mitchell Junior College and served as first President of the College before her return in 1933 to Rockford. During World War II, Youngs taught at the Big Smoky School near Austin, Nevada. She died in Rockford in 1947 after contracting pneumonia.

Scope and Content Note

Types of materials in this collection include: correspondence, eulogies, photographs, a scrapbook and clippings.

Online Catalog Headings

Caroline F. Youngs Collection.
Mary Fisher Floyd Archives.
Pfeiffer University.
Mitchell Home School.
Youngs, Caroline F.
United Methodist Church.
Misenheimer--North Carolina.
 

Organization of Collection

The collection is divided into 5 series.

Correspondence, 1943-1977.
Literary, ca. 1947
Photographs, ca. 1920-1940
Printed Materials, ca. 1947
Scrapbook, nd

 

Detailed Description of the Collection

 
Correspondence, 1943-1977.
9 folders

- Much of the correspondence series consists of Ms. Young's correspondence with students and friends during the 1940s. Two of the letters are a correspondence between Ms. Esther Brooks and Dr. Douglas Sasser, Pfeiffer president in the 1970s, concerning the donation of items.

 
Literary, ca. 1947
1 folder

- The Literary series consists of the eulogy given by Dr. J. Richard Sneed at Ms. Youngs funeral.

 
Photographs ca. 1920-1940
1 folder

- This series contains photographs of Ms. Caroline F. Youngs.

 
Printed Materials, ca 1947.
1 folder

- Contains clippings concerning Ms. Youngs' death.

 
Scrapbook, nd.
1 folder

- A scrapbook created by Ms. Youngs about her time at Mitchell Home School. Refer to the Mitchell Home School Collection for more information concerning the school.

Contact Information

Pfeiffer University
G.A. Pfeiffer Library
PO Box 960 Misenheimer, North Carolina 28109-0960 USA
Phone: 704-463-3361
Email: jonathan.hutchinson@pfeiffer.edu
URL: http://library.pfeiffer.edu/pfeifferarch.html
Processed by
J. Timothy Cole
Date Completed
March 1997, updated 2002 and April 2020
Encoded by
Jonathan C. Hutchinson