Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News
Events
Athletics
FOR YOU> Apply
Visit
Request Info
Give
Pfeiffer Logo About Pfeiffer
Academics

Admissions & Aid
Career Success
Student Life

Research
Tools

Distance Ed
Students

Services About
the Library

Archives Ask a Librarian

Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections: Pfeiffer Woman's Club Papers

The Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections house the University Archives, the official repository of historically significant records of the University.

Collection Information

Collection Information
 
Descriptive Summary
Information for Users
Provenance
Biographical Note
Online Catalog Headings
Organization of Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Certificates, 1976
Clippings, ca. 1965-1975
Constitutions, nd
Correspondence, 1967-1975
Forms, 1967-1976
Invitations, ca. 1970-1971
Minutes, 1957-1976
Notices, nd
Notes, 1967-1976(bulk)
Procedures, nd
Programs, 1974-1976
Reports, 1957-1976
Yearbooks, 1960-1976

Guide to the Pfeiffer Woman's Club Papers

Guide to the Pfeiffer Woman's Club Papers 1957-1976

Collection Number Mss 19986

G.A. Pfeiffer Library, Mary Fisher Floyd Archives & Special Collections

Abstract: The papers of the Pfeiffer Woman's Club were acquired by the Mary Fisher Floyd Archives from the Woman's Club in 1976. Most records were created or maintained by the chapter presidents, and were received by the University in the order in which they were kept.
 

Descriptive Summary

Creator
Pfeiffer University
Title
Pfeiffer Woman's Club Papers
Call Number
Mss 19986
Extent
2 archival boxes, .75 linear feet,
Location
For current information on the location of these materials, please consult the Pfeiffer University Archivist.

Information for Users

Restrictions to Access
Certain restrictions as to the use or copying of the materials in this collection may apply. Please contact the University Archivist for more information on copyright.
Acquisitions Information
The papers of the Pfeiffer Woman's Club were acquired by the Mary Fisher Floyd Archives from the Woman's Club in 1976.
Provenance
Most records were created or maintained by the Pfeiffer Woman's Club chapter presidents, and were received by the University in the order in which they were kept.
Preferred Citation
[Identification of item], Pfeiffer Woman's Club Papers, Mary Fisher Floyd Archives, Pfeiffer University.
Copyright Notice
Certain restrictions as to the use or copying of the materials in this collection may apply. Please contact the University Archivist for more information on copyright.
 

Background Note

The Pfeiffer Woman's Club, in existence from 1957 to 1976, was an organization composed of women affiliated with Pfeiffer College either as the wives of faculty or staff members or as themselves employees of the college, and other women in the community with an interest in joining. The purpose of the club, as stated in the constitution, was to "welcome new faculty families, to promote projects of community interest, to provide social activities for the membership, and to support a kindergarten (later a play school) program." The Woman's club hosted such social gatherings as picnics for new faculty, freshman desserts, parties for teenage children of Pfeiffer employees, and Christmas parties. Interest groups focused on particular areas of interest to Club members, such as gardening, bridge, and needlepoint. Interest groups were formed at the beginning of each year and reflected current member interest. In addition to annual social activities, the club also sponsored forums, panels, and discussions of interest to the Pfeiffer College community or women. The Pfeiffer Woman's Club ran an on-campus kindergarten until 1974 when it became a preschool. The organization helped fill a void in the community for many years because public kindergartens did not yet exist. Also, the college community was somewhat isolated from surrounding towns and the kindergarten and preschools were added support networks for young families.

Scope and Content Note

The Pfeiffer Woman's Club Papers consist primarily of records created in the conduct of business of the organization from the years 1957 to 1976. Original order has been maintained throughout the collection; there are thirteen series. The records of the organization shed light not only on the business activities of the Club, but also reflect the roles played by women in a small college community over two decades. While some practices of the group may appear old-fashioned, such as maintaining a list of all unmarried male faculty (and assuming all faculty members are male), the Club also supported speakers and informative events such as forums on ERA and pollution. The yearbooks, or directories, produced by the organization identify members and their families, occupations, residences, and other personal and demographic information. They also list annual events sponsored by the Pfeiffer Woman's Club and other relevant information.

 

Online Catalog Headings

Pfeiffer Woman's Club Papers.
Mary Fisher Floyd Archives.
Pfeiffer University.
United Methodist Church.
Misenheimer--North Carolina.dd>
Stanly County (NC) History.

Organization of Collection

The collection is divided into 13 series.

Certificates, 1976
Clippings, ca. 1965-1975
Constitutions, nd.
Correspondence, 1967-1975 (bulk)
Forms, 1967-1976
Invitations, ca 1970-1971 Minutes, 1957-1976 Notices, nd.
Notes, 1967-1975 (bulk)
Procedures, nd.
Programs, 1974-1976
Reports, 1957-1976
Yearbooks, 1960-1976

 

Detailed Description of the Collection

  
Certificates, 1976.
1 folder

 

Clippings, ca. 1965-1975
1 folder

- Newspaper clippings describing events and meetings sponsored by the Pfeiffer Woman's Club.

 
Constitutions, nd.
1 folder

- Several versions of the Club constitution.

 
Correspondence, 1967-1975 (bulk).
27 folders

- Correspondence concerning the business of the club. Arranged in alphabetical order by correspondent. Dates of correspondence given when known.

 
Forms, 1967-1976.
3 folders

- Forms generated by the Club, or used by the Club, such as membership forms, directory information forms, work reports, and facility request documents.

 
Invitations, ca. 1970-1971.
5 folders

- Invitations to events hosted by the Club. Arranged alphabetically by event.

 
Minutes, 1957-1976.
19 folders

- General membership meeting minutes, as well as minutes of the executive council of the Woman's Club and committee meeting minutes. Arranged chronologically by academic calendar year.

 
Notices, nd.
1 folder

- Circulars, posters, and general announcements of events or information of interest to the Pfeiffer College community.

 
Notes, 1967-1976 (bulk)
3 folders

- Information distributed to general membership at meetings and working notes of the club president.

 
Procedures, nd.
2 folders

- Courses of action to be undertaken by the executive council and kindergarten committees.

 
Programs, 1974-1976.
2 folders

- Program from a forum cosponsored by the Woman's Club (along with accompanying literature) and a program from an appreciation banquet hosted by Pfeiffer College in honor of contributors to the college's giving clubs.

 
Reports, 1957-1976.
4 folders

- Financial reports of the treasurer and committee reports to the executive council, arranged chronologically.

 
Yearbooks, 1960-1976.
13 folders

- Pfeiffer Woman's Club annual publication. Yearbooks, include member names and addresses, officer listings, calendars of events, interest groups, and listings of bachelor faculty members.


Contact Information

Pfeiffer University
G.A. Pfeiffer Library
PO Box 960 Misenheimer, North Carolina 28109-0960 USA
Phone: 704-463-3361
Email: jonathan.hutchinson@pfeiffer.edu
URL: http://library.pfeiffer.edu/pfeifferarch.html
Processed by
Holly A. Mercer
Date Completed
August 1998, updated 2002 and April 2020
Encoded by
Jonathan C. Hutchinson