African American Genealogy
-
Rev. Dr. Vernon M Herron Civil Rights and Genealogy Collection : Ms.201531
Architecture and Historic Buildings
Special collections houses several collections with information about regional architecture and area historic structures. Published works are also available in the G. A. Pfeiffer Library. Consult Polaris, the online library catalog, to locate books on this subject.
- Hambley collection, 1877-1987 : Ms. 19988
- Pfeiffer in the making, 1941 / Harry E. Lindley : Ms. 199909
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Stanly County architecture, 1785-1910 / Doris P. Balfrey : Ms. 199918
- Taylor family papers, 1898-1918 : Ms. 199921
- Phyllis Gore Houghton scrapbook, 1970-1995 : Ms. 199906
Cabarrus County
Many books are available on the history and heritage of Cabarrus County. Also, there are numerous pamphlets pertaining to Cabarrus County in the rare books area of Special Collections. Consult Polaris, the online library catalog.
- Ivey L. Sharpe papers : Ms. 19974
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Gold Mining collection : Ms. 19989
- Ledger, 1856-1886 / F. V. E. A. Alexander : Ms. 199925
- Account book, 1889-1894 / Caleb L. Nussman : Ms. 199926
Charlotte, N.C.
Charlotte is a major city and commercial hub in North Carolina. With it being settled before the American Revolution, Charlotte has over 265 years of history to explore. Consult Polaris, the online library catalog.
- Rev. Dr. Vernon M Herron Civil Rights and Genealogy Collection : Ms.201531
Civil Rights
- Rev. Dr. Vernon M Herron Civil Rights and Genealogy Collection : Ms.201531
Education
These collections deal primarily with the educational experience of Pfeiffer in its earlier forms as a grade school, high school, and junior college. Refer to records in the University Archives for specific information on programs, courses, etc.
- Emily C. Prudden collection, 1840-1996 : Ms. 19971
- Caroline F. Youngs collection : Ms. 19972
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Mary Fisher Floyd papers : Ms. 19976
- Mitchell Home School collection : 19981
- Oberlin Home and School collection : Ms. 19982
- Phoebe Pollitt papers : Ms. 19983
- Pfeiffer Woman's Club records, 1957-1976 : Ms. 19986
- Pfeiffer-Merner Family collection : Ms. 19987
- Esther Neibel McBee Scrapbook and Photo Album, 1927-1929 : Ms. 199901
- Kappa Chi scrapbook, 1958-1959 : Ms. 199904
- Scrapbook, 1932-1960 : Ms. 199905
- Phyllis Gore Houghton scrapbook, 1970-1995 : Ms. 199906
- Beulah Taylor photo album : Ms. 199908
- Woman's Home Missionary Society records, 1925-1948 : 199919
- Terry Haynes Carpenter papers : Ms. 199920
- Mary Aurilla Davis papers, 1924-1925 : Ms. 199923
- Lottie E. Watkins papers, 1875-1924 : Ms. 199924
- Lonnie Cruse Holmes letter : Ms. 199927
- Essay / Annie Laura Williams Misenheimer : Ms. 199928
- Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society - Delta Upsilon Chapter (Pfeiffer Junior College) records, 1945-1949 : Ms. 199930
- Rev. Dr. Vernon M Herron Civil Rights and Genealogy Collection : Ms.201531
Genealogy
- Rev. Dr. Vernon M Herron Civil Rights and Genealogy Collection : Ms.201531
Gold Hill, N.C.
Gold Hill is a former mining town located four miles from Pfeiffer University. For more information about Gold Hill, visit the restored Gold Hill Village.
- Gold Mining collection : Ms. 19989
- Union Copper Mines Company records, 1906-1918 : Ms. 199810
- Gold Hill Copper Company records, 1900-1906 : Ms. 199811
Mecklenburg County
Mecklenburg County is rich in history, and numerous publications on the county are available in the library. Consult Polaris, the library's online catalog, for titles.
- Rev. Dr. Vernon M Herron Civil Rights and Genealogy Collection : Ms. 201531
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
Methodist Church
The Mary Fisher Floyd Special Collections does not collect records of the Methodist Church. However, because Pfeiffer University is affiliated with the Western North Carolina Conference of the United Methodist Church, there are numerous materials that relate to Methodism in the special collections. The collections listed below pertain to the Methodist Church in western North Carolina and various Methodist women's groups. The library has copies of monographs and serials of the Methodist Episcopal Church; the Methodist Episcopal Church, South; the Methodist Protestant Church; the Methodist Church; and the United Methodist Church. Consult the Polaris online catalog for holdings information.
- Ivey L. Sharpe papers : Ms. 19974
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Mary Fisher Floyd papers : Ms. 19976
- Mitchell Home School collection : 19981
- Oberlin Home and School collection : 19982
- Phoebe Pollitt papers : Ms. 19983
- Kappa Chi scrapbook, 1958-1959 : Ms. 199904
- Woman's Home Missionary Society records, 1925-1948 : 199919
Mines and mining
Cabarrus County was the site of the first major gold discovery in North Carolina. The area surrounding Pfeiffer University is rich in mineral deposits and mining history. Barringer mine, site of the first sub-surface gold mining operation in N.C., is located a short distance from Pfeiffer. Primary and secondary source material about mining in the region is available in special collections, and in Polaris.
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Hambley collection, 1877-1987 : Ms. 19988
- Gold Mining collection : Ms. 19989
- Union Copper Mines Company records, 1906-1918 : Ms. 199810
- Gold Hill Copper Company records, 1900-1906 : Ms. 199811
- Golden Crown Mining Company collection : Ms. 199812
- Elmwood Coal Company records, 1894 : 199813
Misenheimer, N.C.
The community now called Misenheimer was formerly known as Misenheimer Springs because of the sulphur spring located nearby. In the nineteenth century it was a resort area. The collections below provide history about the area, as well as information about the Misenheimer family for which it was named.
- Ivey L. Sharpe papers : Ms. 19974
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Annie B. Davis Gowell collection : Ms. 19973
- Mary Fisher Floyd papers : Ms. 19976
- Mitchell Home School collection : 19981
- Gold Mining collection : Ms. 19989
- Esther Neibel McBee Scrapbook and Photo Album, 1927-1929 : Ms. 199901
- Photo album, 1934-1937 : Ms. 199907
- Meisenheim collection, 1966-1997 : Ms. 199910
- Harvey N. Misenheimer letters, 1978-1983 : Ms. 199911
- Essay / Annie Laura Williams Misenheimer : Ms. 199928
Pfeiffer and Merner families
Henry and Annie Merner Pfeiffer made such a significant impact on the school that in 1935 its name was changed to Pfeiffer Junior College in their honor. Other family members, such as G. A. Pfeiffer and Garfield Merner, also contributed to the school. The Pfeiffer-Merner Family collection has the most extensive biographical information on family members; the other collections help document the family's support of the institution.
- Mary Fisher Floyd papers : Ms. 19976
- Pfeiffer-Merner Family collection : Ms. 19987
- Scrapbook, 1932-1960 : Ms. 199905
- Woman's Home Missionary Society records, 1925-1948 : 199919
Emily Prudden
Emily Prudden founded at least fifteen mission schools in western North Carolina, including Oberlin Home and School (now Pfeiffer University). Phoebe Pollit's doctoral thesis, a book on the Prudden family, and a publication of the Church of Christ Congregational (Orange, CT) also contain information by or about Emily Prudden and are available in the Mary Fisher Floyd Special Collections.
- Emily C. Prudden Collection, 1840-1996 : Ms. 19971
- Mary Fisher Floyd papers : Ms. 19976
- Phoebe Pollitt papers : Ms. 19983
Rowan County
Rowan County is rich in history, and numerous publications on the county are available in the library. Consult Polaris, the library's online catalog, for titles.
- Ivey L. Sharpe papers : Ms. 19974
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Yadkin Pee Dee Lakes Project records : Ms. 19984
- Hambley collection, 1877-1987 : Ms. 19988
- Gold Mining collection : Ms. 19989
- Union Copper Mines Company records, 1906-1918 : Ms. 199810
Stanly County
Mitchell Home School (forerunner of Pfeiffer University) relocated from Lenoir, NC to the northern part of Stanly County in 1910 The school and the county have shared a common history for over ninety years; thus, many materials in special collections relate to Stanly County. The manuscript collections listed below emphasize Stanly's history. Books about Stanly County can be found by using Polaris, the library's online catalog.
- Ivey L. Sharpe papers : Ms. 19974
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Yadkin Pee Dee Lakes Project records : Ms. 19984
- Gold Mining collection : Ms. 19989
- Essay / Annie Laura Williams Misenheimer : Ms. 199928
Uwharrie Lakes Region
The Uwharrie Lakes region consists of North Carolina counties which border the Yadkin or Pee Dee Rivers. While in the past the rivers served as a boundary, or division, today the rivers and their lakes lakes bind the counties into a distinct region. The region shares a similar cultural, environmental, and economic heritage, and the collections below document that heritage. There are also many publications about various aspects of the Uwharrie Lakes region; consult the Polaris online catalog for specific titles available at Pfeiffer University.
- Regional collection : Ms. 19975
- Yadkin Pee Dee Lakes Project records : Ms. 19984
- Gold Mining collection : Ms. 19989
- Ivey L. Sharpe papers : Ms. 19974
- Hambley collection, 1877-1987 : Ms. 19988
Woman's Home Missionary Society
The collections listed below contain information about the Woman's Home Missionary Society and its relationship to Pfeiffer. The library also has more general histories of the WHMS and other Methodist women's organizations; they can be located in Polaris.
- Emily C. Prudden collection, 1840-1996 : Ms. 19971
- Mary Fisher Floyd papers : Ms. 19976
- Mitchell Home School collection : 19981
- Oberlin Home and School collection : 19982
- Phoebe Pollitt papers : Ms. 19983
- Pfeiffer-Merner Family collection : Ms. 19987
- Photo album, 1934-1937 : Ms. 199907
- William L. Cline papers, 1962 : Ms. 199914
- Jane Hill Freeman collection, 1964-1977 : Ms. 199915
- Ruthella Feaster Rodeheaver papers, 1959-1977 : Ms. 199916
- Anna K. Rowe papers, 1959-1961 : Ms. 199917
- Woman's Home Missionary Society records, 1925-1948 : 199919
Women
From Emily Prudden's founding of Oberlin Home and School, women have played a key role in the history of Pfeiffer University. These collections document women's contributions to Pfeiffer.
- Emily C. Prudden collection, 1840-1996 : Ms. 19971
- Caroline F. Youngs collection : Ms. 19972
- Mary Fisher Floyd papers : Ms. 19976
- Oberlin Home and School collection : Ms. 19982
- Phoebe Pollitt papers : Ms. 19983
- Pfeiffer Woman's Club records, 1957-1976 : Ms. 19986
- Pfeiffer-Merner Family collection : Ms. 19987
- Esther Neibel McBee Scrapbook and Photo Album, 1927-1929 : Ms. 199901
- Beulah Taylor photo album : Ms. 199908
- William L. Cline papers, 1962 : Ms. 199914
- Jane Hill Freeman collection, 1964-1977 : Ms. 199915
- Ruthella Feaster Rodeheaver papers, 1959-1977 : Ms. 199916
- Anna K. Rowe papers, 1959-1961 : Ms. 199917
- Woman's Home Missionary Society records, 1925-1948 : 199919
- Taylor family papers, 1898-1918 : Ms. 199921
- Lottie E. Watkins papers, 1875-1924 : Ms. 199924
- Rev. Dr. Vernon M Herron Civil Rights and Genealogy Collection : Ms. 201531
