Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News
Events
Athletics
FOR YOU> Apply
Visit
Request Info
Give
Pfeiffer Logo About Pfeiffer
Academics

Admissions & Aid
Career Success
Student Life

Research
Tools

Distance Ed
Students

Services About
the Library

Archives Ask a Librarian

Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections: Annie B. Davis Gowell Collection

The Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections house the University Archives, the official repository of historically significant records of the University.

Collection Information

Descriptive Summary
Information for Users
Provenance
Biographical Note
Online Catalog Headings
Organization of Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Correspondence, 1932-1941
Literary, nd
Photographs ca. 1920
Printed Materials,
ca. 1944-1974
Realia, nd

Guide to the Annie B. Davis Gowell Collection

Guide to the Annie B. Davis Gowell Collection ca. 1920-1974

Collection Number Mss 19973

G.A. Pfeiffer Library, Mary Fisher Floyd Archives & Special Collections


Abstract: This small collection consists chiefly of materials relating to the last years of a former Mitchell School teacher and principal. Included is correspondence from Ms. Gowell, two fine photographs of Ms. Gowell, and some information on Gowell bequests and the Gowell-Morgan scholarship
 

Descriptive Summary

Creator
Pfeiffer University
Title
Annie B. Davis Gowell Collection
Call Number
Mss 19973
Extent
1 archival box, .2 linear feet
Location
For current information on the location of these materials, please consult the Pfeiffer University Archivist.

Information for Users

Restrictions to Access
This collection may have restrictions to access. Please contact the Pfeiffer University Archivist for more information.
  • Acquisitions Information
  • The majority of items were acquired by unknown means.
  • Provenance
  • This is an artificial collection whose paper materials were originally housed in a file on Gowell within the subject-based system developed by Dr. Bernard Russell. Artifacts owned by Ms. Gowell have been placed with this collection.
Preferred Citation
[Identification of item], Annie B. Davis Gowell Collection, Mary Fisher Floyd Archives, Pfeiffer University.
Copyright Notice
Certain restrictions as to the use or copying of the materials in these papers may apply. Please contact the Pfeiffer University Archivist for more information.

Biographical Note

Annie B. Davis Gowell (1857-1944) was a principal and teacher at Mitchell School from 1913-27. Originally from Maine, she came to Misenheimer after the death of her husband. She taught mathematics and chemistry for many years without pay, and on the campus of the school built a quaint cottage which bears her name.

Scope and Content Note

This small collection consists chiefly of materials relating to the last years of a former Mitchell School teacher and principal. Included is correspondence from Ms. Gowell, two fine photographs of Ms. Gowell, and some information on Gowell bequests and the Gowell-Morgan scholarship.

Online Catalog Headings

Annie B. Davis Gowell Collection.
Mary Fisher Floyd Archives.
Pfeiffer University.
Mitchell Home School.
Gowell, Annie B. Davis.
United Methodist Church.
Misenheimer--North Carolina.

Organization of Collection

The collection is divided into 5 series.

Correspondence, 1932-1941
Literary, nd
Photographs, ca. 1920
Printed Materials, ca. 1944-1974
Realia, nd

Detailed Description of the Collection

 
Correspondence, 1932-1941.
6 folders

- Much of the correspondence series consists of Ms. Gowell's correspondence with students and friends during the 1930s and early 1940s.

 
Literary, nd
2 folders

- The Literary series consists of an autograph of Ms. Gowell and a list of items bequested to Pfeiffer.

 
Photographs ca. 1920
3 folders

- This series contains photographs of Ms. Annie B. Davis Gowell.

 
Printed Materials, ca. 1944-1974.
2 folders

- Contains clippings concerning Ms. Gowell's death and a Pfeiffer News article about the Gowell-Morgan Scholarship..

 
Realia, nd.
1 box

- Items including are: "Burnt-wood" box, butter(?) dish, "Rose-leaf" bowl, Rug made by Ms. Gowell, "Sweetheart" plate


Contact Information

Contact Information:
Pfeiffer University
G.A. Pfeiffer Library
PO Box 960
Misenheimer, North Carolina 28109-0960 USA
Phone: 704-463-3361
Email: jonathan.hutchinson@pfeiffer.edu
URL: http://library.pfeiffer.edu/pfeifferarch.html
Processed by
J. Timothy Cole
Date Completed
March 1997, updated 2002 and April 2020
Encoded by
Jonathan C. Hutchinson