| News |
Events |
Athletics |
FOR YOU> | Apply |
Visit |
Request Info | Give |
|
|
About Pfeiffer |
Academics |
Admissions & Aid |
Career
Success |
Student Life | |||
| Research Tools |
Online Students |
Services | About the Library |
Archives |  |
Descriptive Summary
Information for Users
Provenance
Biographical Note
Online Catalog Headings
Organization of Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Correspondence, 1878-1907
Pictures, nd
Printed Materials,
ca. 1904-1960
Realia, nd
Guide to The E.B.C. Hambley Papers 1877 - 1977Collection Number Mss 19988G.A. Pfeiffer Library, Mary Fisher Floyd Archives & Special Collections |
|
| Abstract: The E. B. C. Hambley papers consist of items donated to Pfeiffer University by Juliette Leonard Hambley on August 18, 1977. The Papers also include additional items supplied by staff of G. A. Pfeiffer Library. Materials range in date from approximately 1877 to 1987.
|
|
Descriptive Summary
Information for Users
Biographical NotesEgbert Barry Cornwall Hambley, 1862-1906 1881 - Became assistant to the principal of the Gold Hill Mines 1884-1887 - Returned to England to become engineer at John Taylor and Sons; traveled to India and South Africa to observe mining practices. 1886 Director of Salisbury Cotton Mills 1887 Returned to NC; married Lottie Clark Coleman of Warrenton, NC 1888 Director of Davis and Wiley Bank of Salisbury 1898 Became affiliated with banking and brokerage firm of Whitney and Stephenson of Pittsburgh 1900 Began building mansion on South Fulton Street, Salisbury, NC 1901 Whitney Dam project begun August 13, 1906 Died of typhoid fever
George I. Whitney, 1847- 1868 received Master of Arts degree from Western University 1871 left Citizens' National Bank of Pittsburgh 1881 built water works at New Castle, PA 1882-1889 president of and owner of Central Passenger Railway Company 1884 member, New York Stock Exchange; formed Whitney & Stephenson, brokers 1886 organized Hostetter-Connellsville Coke Company 1901 Whitney dam project begun by the Whitney Company 1904 accident at Barringer Mine, owned by Whitney; 8 people die 1906 Pittsburgh money barons marked Whitney for financial ruin; collapse of Whitney project 1907 Whitney files for bankruptcy 1910 Whitney Dam property sold to North Carolina Electric and Power Co. Scope and Content NoteThe E. B. C. Hambley Papers, mss 19988, were the gift of Juliette Leonard Hambley, wife of the third son of E. B. C. Hambley. Items in the collection originally formed an exhibit in the G. A. Pfeiffer Library. Most of the printed items about Mr. Hambley were written well after his death. The correspondence are facsimiles. However the photographs are authentic as are the realia which together form the bulk of the collection. In addition to material about Hambley, there are items that concern his business and social acquaintances as well. Most notable of these individuals is George I. Whitney. The E. B. C. Hambley Papers are significant because Hambley was not only a witness to the significant growth in the region at the turn of the century, but he also was an impetus of that growth. In addition to his gold mining interests, he also ran a cotton mill, a bank, a granite quarry, was a farmer and rancher, was a founder of the Salisbury Gas and Electric Light Company, and helped finance the infamous Whitney Dam project. He was the only local man to hold office with the Whitney company. One source stated that Hambley was responsible for bringing more than $30 million into Piedmont North Carolina. E. B. C. Hambley met and courted Lottie Coleman, the daughter of Dr. Littleton William Coleman of Rockwell. Lottie was the great granddaughter of North Carolina governor William Hawkins. Their children were: William Hawkins, Littleton Coleman, James Young, Charlotte Isabel. Juliette Leonard Hambley's obituary highlights her interest in writing and literature. The biographical sketch of Christian Reed (Frances Christine Fisher Tiernan) is probably part of this collection because of the common interest of the two women; also, Mr. J. M. Tiernan was an associate of E. B. C. Hambley. Juliette Hambley was the wife of cotton broker William Hawkins "Tops" Hambley, who died December 31, 1972. Names in the collection include: Egbert Barry Cornwall Hambley; Juliette Leonard Hambley; Littleton Coleman; Lottie Coleman Hambley; Christian Reed; J. M. Tiernan; George I. Whitney. Subjects include: Gold Mining - Southern states; Industry in NC; Rowan County, NC; Stanly County, NC; North Carolina architecture; North Carolina fiction; and to a small extent, family life at the turn of the century.
Online Catalog Headings
Organization of CollectionThe collection is divided into 4 series. Correspondence, 1878-1907
Detailed Description of the CollectionCorrespondence, 1878-1904.
4 folders - This small series consists mostly of letters written by E.B.C Hambley. Pictures, nd
5 folders - The Pictures series consists of pictures of E.B.C Hambley, his wife Lottie Coleman Hambley and George I. Whitney. Printed Materials ca. 1904-1960
12 folders - This series contains postcards, clippings, obituaries and articles about E.B.C Hambley and his family.
Realia, nd.
- Items include: Cash box and Gold ore from Whitney Gold Mine, Gold Hill, NC |
|