Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News
Events
Athletics
FOR YOU> Apply
Visit
Request Info
Give
Pfeiffer Logo About Pfeiffer
Academics

Admissions & Aid
Career Success
Student Life

Research
Tools

Distance Ed
Students

Services About
the Library

Archives Ask a Librarian

Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections: Info for Researchers

The Mary Fisher Floyd Archives and Special Collections house the University Archives, the official repository of historically significant records of the University.

Guidelines for Use

Guidelines for Use

1. All materials are to be used in the Mary Fisher Floyd Archives or the area designated by the archivist.

2. Materials are available for use only during Archives business hours. Hours are subject to change; call ahead and schedule an appointment to get the most out of your visit.

3. All notes must be taken in pencil or with laptop computer, smart phone or tablet.

4. Photocopying of material is permitted in most cases, at the discretion of the archivist. All photocopying will be done by the archivist at a cost to the researcher of $.10 per page.

5. The exact order or arrangement of papers must be kept intact. If any mistake in arrangement is discovered, please call it to the attention of archives staff.

6. Please exercise greatest possible care to prevent damage to materials and exercise extreme care in handling fragile items. This also includes making no marks on materials, resting no books or objects on the surface of items used, handling loose sheets by their edges and avoiding, as far as possible, touching the surface with hands.

7. A minimum of materials essential to immediate research needs is allowed at any time.

8. In reference and in footnotes cite the full name of the repository and the full name of the collection.

For example: Emily C. Prudden Collection. Mary Fisher Floyd Archives, Pfeiffer University, Misenheimer, North Carolina.

9. Obtain information on literary rights from the archivist. The University does not hold the copyright to all items located in special collections. Securing permission to publish material is the sole responsibility of the researcher.

10. Return all materials to staff fifteen minutes before closing. Researchers may request the reservation of material if it is to be used again in the immediate future.


All researchers will be asked to read and sign the rules for use before they will be allowed to use the resources in the Mary Fisher Floyd Archives.